Adamawa Assembly impeach deputy speaker, majority leader in Saturday sitting

The Adamawa State House of Assembly has impeached its Deputy Speaker, Emmanuel Tsamdu and Majority Leader, Hassan Barguma.

Also impeached in a sitting held on Saturday were the Deputy Majority Leader, Abubakar Isa (Shelleng Constituency); and Deputy Chief Whip, Abdullahi Nyapak (Verre Constituency).

The house elected in the places of the impeached officials, Lumsabani Dilli (Demsa Constituency) as the Deputy Speaker, while Hayatu Atiku (Uba-Gaya) was elected Majority Leader.

Safiyanu Aminu Aliyu (Song Constituency) became the new Deputy Chief Whip while Sani Shehu (Mubi North Constituency) became the Deputy Majority Leader.

The Speaker of the Assembly, Alhaji Kabiru Mijinyawa, confirmed the development, but in a reaction, Emmanuel Tsamdu rejected his impeachment, asserting, “13 people cannot impeach me.”

The Assembly comprises 25 members, which implies that only slightly more than half the number conducted the impeachment.

It was still unclear by press time why the impeachment was effected and why it should be on a Saturday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.