Why Kwankwaso’s defection to PDP is blessing to Ganduje

The Kano State Commissioner for Rural and Community Development, Alhaji Iliyasu Musa Kwankwaso, on Tuesday described the defection of Senator Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso from the ruling APC to the PDP, as both a blessing to Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje and President Muhammadu Buhari.

While reacting to the defection of Senator Kwankwaso to the Opposition party, (PDP), Iliyasu Kwankwaso, said his defection is longer news because he has been echoing it for the past six months, as such, his sudden defection will not affect the fortunes of Governor Ganduje’s re-election, come 2019.

According to him, Kwankwaso’s dumping the APC for the PDP is rather a blessing in disguise for the ruling party in the state, because Senator Kwankwaso’s ploy politics is to capture the already established structure of the PDP in the State, as well as installing his preferred candidates.

Kwankwaso’s return to the PDP will only succeed in capturing  60 per cent of the party’s structure, pointing out that the former Foreign Minister, Ambassador Aminu Wali and the erstwhile Minister of Education, Malam Ibrahim  Shekarau, including Senator Bello Hayyatu will take the remaining 40 per cent.

The implication of the development, he said is that Senator Kwankwaso will never endorse the candidature of Aminu Wali and Shekarau, just as he emphasized that the embattled Senator will attempt to manipulate  the already existing structure for his personal gain.

He said: ”I want you all to wait for the next one month,  after the defection of Senator Kwankwaso from the ruling APC and be on the watch out for what would happen, as there would be mass defection of numerous PDP members, as Kwankwaso will neither support Wali’s candidature nor Shekarau.”

He  said: ” I have re-echoed about six months ago that Kwankwaso is no longer a member of our party, the APC and here we are today, my projections have been confirmed.

Kwankwaso’s presence would only end up driving away a lot of people from the PDP, as it has always been the case wherever he goes.”

Similarly, he noted that Kwankwaso would attempt to impose a gubernatorial candidate, as well as other key positions on the people of Kano and once that is achieved, he would end up using the party to his own advantage going by his antecedents and this, would bring about great misunderstandings within the party, leading to mass exodus of supporters of PDP, whom will end up with the APC.

He said, Kwankwaso would attempt to change PDP structures in the state, and I am telling you that this would force major stakeholders to move out of the party.

”Let me make it abundantly clear to you that Kwankwaso is just deceiving the public, with his Presidential ambition, what he’s after is to maintain his Senatorial seat.”

Kwankwaso, Melaye, 13 other senators dump APC for PDP

President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, has read a letter from 13 members of the All Progressives’ senators declaring their defection from the ruling All Progressives Congress to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party.

The lawmakers include Rabi’u Kwankwaso (Kano-Central), Dino Melaye (Kogi-West), Adesoji Akanbi (Oyo-South), Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo-Central), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara-South), Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna-North), and Lanre Tejuoso (Ogun-Central).

Others are Usman Nafada (Gombe), Ibrahim Dambaba (Sokoto), Mohammed Shittu (Jigawa) Isa Misau (Bauchi) Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi) Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara) and Barnabas Gemade (Benue).

Also, Senator Abdul-Azeez Murtala-Nyako (Adamawa) who had earlier dumped the APC for the African Democratic Congress, also formalised his defection.

Saraki, while responding to the plea by the Majority Leader, Senator Ahmad Lawan, for the defectors to rescind their decision, lambasted the APC.

Here’s a a list of defected senators who anchored their reason on the current crisis and faction in the ruling party….

1.Rabi’u Kwankwaso (Kano-Central)
2. Dino Melaye (Kogi-West)
3. Adesoji Akanbi (Oyo-South)
4.Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo-Central)
5.Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara-South)
6.Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna-North)
7. Lanre Tejuoso (Ogun-Central)
8. Usman Nafada (Gombe)
9. Ibrahim Dambaba (Sokoto)
10.Mohammed Shittu (Jigawa)
11.Isa Misau (Bauchi)
12.Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi)
13.Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara)
14. Barnabas Gemade (Benue).
15.Senator Abdul-Azeez Murtala-Nyako (Adamawa)

APC now minority in Nigerian Senate

The All Progressives Congress (APC) is now a minority in the Nigerian Senate, after a total of 15 Senators announced they have moved to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

This happened after Senate President, Bukola Saraki, took charge of Tuesday’s plenary session, following his face-off with policemen who blocked him from leaving his Abuja residence earlier in the day.

The Senator include: Sen. Tejouso Lanre, Sen. Shaaba Lafiaji, Sen. Gemade Barnabas, Sen. Dino Melaye, Sen. Shittu Ubali, Sen. Rafiu Ibrahim, Sen. Isa Misau and Sen. Suleiman Hunkuyi.

Other are: Sen. Monsurat Sunmunu, Sen. Danbaba Abdullahi, Sen. Nafada Usman, Sen. Suleiman Nazif, Sen. Rafiu Kwankwaso and Sen. Abdul-Azeez Murtala Nyako.

This effectively means PDP has 64 lawmakers in the Senate, while APC has 45.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.