See the 5 Deputy Governors in Lagos state since 1999, number 5 gave Tinubu ‘hell’

In the last 20 years, Lagos state has had 5 different Deputy Governors, serving just three governors, Bola Tinubu, Babatunde Fashola and Akinwumi Ambode.

Asides the present deputy governor, who will will exiting at the same time with her boss, none of the others outlived the governors they served, with various circumstances causing their exit.

We bring you the five of them, and the circumstances surrounding their exit from the present to the very first.

1. Idiat Adubule

A university lecturer, Idiat Adebule studied Islamic education at Lagos State University, LASU, Ojo, where she also obtained her Masters and PhD.

She lectured for some years, at Michael Otedola College Of Primary Education, Epe in the department of Religious Studies, and then at the Lagos State University, before going into politics in 2005.

She was appointed as Commissioner 1 in the Lagos State Post Primary Teaching Service Commission, PP-TESCOM now Teachers’Establishment and Pensions Office by Bola Tinubu who was then Lagos state governor from October 2000 to February 2005 and later as board member of the Lagos State Scholarship Board from February 2005 to November 2005.

During the appointment of Governor Fashola, she became the Secretary to the State Government during his second term in July, 2011.

She thereafter contested as the running mate of the present Governor, Ambode, and was sworn in as the Lagos state deputy governor in May 29, 2015.

2. Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire

Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire was a one time member of the Lagos State House of Assembly in Nigeria’s third republic when she represented Alimosho Constituency 1, between 1991 and 1993.

Upon return to civil rule in 1999, she was appointed Electoral Commissioner in Lagos State by the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission, LASIEC. She held this position until 2003, when she was appointed Honourable Commissioner for Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation in Tinubu’s government.

She became the running mate of Governor Fashola during his re-election bid, and was sworn in as the deputy governor of the state on May 29, 2011.

3. Sarah Sosan

A graduate of the University of Lagos, where she read English Arts, Sarah Sosan worked as a school teacher.

She then moved to Lagos State Ministry of Education where she was between 1990 and 1999 as Principal Education Officer. She later moved to the defunct State Primary Education Board (SPEB) now Lagos State Universal Basic Education Board (LSUBEB) as an Assistant Board Secretary. Later in year 2006 when the state Primary Education Board transformed to Lagos State Universal Basic Education Board, she was redeployed to the Department of Communication and Information Technology as the Head of Department (HOD). As the Head of Department, she was saddled with the responsibility of ensuring computer education and training was given the attention it deserved in Lagos State Public Primary Schools.

She left her role there to join politics.

She was the running mate of Governor Fashola in 2007, and was sworn in as the deputy governor of Lagos May 29, 2007.

She however was replaced by Orelope-Adefulire for Fashola’s second term.

4. Femi Pedro

Pedro was elected as Deputy Governor of Lagos State in April 2003, and was sworn in alongside Governor Bola Ahmed Tinubu the following month. He was recruited primarily due to his Economic background; but with time, he became renowned for his political sagacity by keen political observers in Lagos, Nigeria.

Pedro is widely regarded as one of the bedrocks of the economic revolution which Lagos enjoys today. In his years as the deputy governor, Pedro was appointed chairman of Lagos State Revenue Mobilization committee under which the Board of Inland Revenue, the Land Use Allocation Committee, and other revenue generating agencies reported and performed admirably. They embarked on an unprecedented and aggressive revenue drive by restructuring, reorganising and re-engineering the Board of Inland Revenue. His wealth of experience in the banking sector came to fruition as he oversaw the increase of Lagos State’s Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) from 300 Million Naira per month to a staggering 7 Billion Naira per month in the space of eighteen months.

He was popularly referred to as “Mr. Pedronomics”, primarily due to his affinity towards micro and macro-economic policies.

Pedro’s trouble started with Tinubu after he decided to contest the 2007 governorship election even though Tinubu was supporting Fashola his Chief of Staff.

He thereafter left the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN to contest under the platform of Labour Party. He thereafter resigned as deputy governor.

5. Kofoworola Bucknor-Akerele

Kofoworola Bucknor-Akerele was elected alongside Tinubu in 1999, but was later impeached by the House of Assembly.

Image result for kofoworola bucknor

On why she fell out with Tinubu, she told Sun, “Well, I can talk about it. It was quite simple. Tinubu wanted to take over the party and I feel that I could not follow him in that scheme and that is why we fell apart.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.