Abdulmumin Jibrin speaks after missing out on Gbajabiamila committees’ appointment

Most political observers predicted that Abdulmumin Jibrin, the former Chairman of Femi Gbajabiamila Speakership Campaign, would buoyantly be compensated for a job well done after Gbajabiamila emerged Speaker of the House of Representatives.

But nearly all those who made that prediction were shocked as Jibrin was missing on the list of chairmen of committees announced by the Speaker on Thursday, July 25.

A few hours after the announcement, Jibrin took to his Twitter page praising the courage and leadership quality of the Speaker.

“…We have announced leadership of Committees and did our best to ensure merit and fairness. Mr Speaker went through extreme pressure but as usual, he showed courage. History will be kind to him. May God bless 9th Assembly,” he tweeted.


In the heads of the house standing committees announced, it shows that members of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC)  got the lion share with 80 committee chairmen with 63 deputy chairmen.

Twenty members of the main opposition Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) got 20 chairmen with 30 deputies while the remaining chairmanship and deputy chairmanship positions were shared by the  All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Action Alliance( AA)  and Allied Peoples Movement (APM).

The list shows lawmakers from Lagos, Kano and Katsina states got Grade A committees which some people described as “juicy committees”. They were known as political allies of the Speaker.

Before the inauguration of the 9th Assembly, Gbajabiamila had reportedly promised PDP members 60 committee chairmanship.

It was later discovered that majority of the PDP members endorsed his opponent, Umar Bago, ahead of the contest, only a few PDP members voted for the speaker.

PDP members who made the list include Beni Lar from Plateau state (Science and Technology), Michael Okon from Akwa Ibom state (Solid Minerals), Mike Etaba from Cross River (Legislative Budget and Research).

Also, Wole Oke from Osun was announced as the Chairman of Public Accounts Committee ( PAC); Lynda Ikpeazu is the head of Maritime, Safety and Education; while Nicholas Mutu becomes the Committee chair of Gas Resources.

Before making the announcement, Gbajabiamila appealed to his colleagues who might feel offended with the composition to forgive him.

Some lawmakers, according to TheSun, confer with the speaker while a few others quietly walked out of the chamber.

In the meantime, the lower legislative chamber had adjourned plenary for its annual vacation and is expected to resume on September 17, 2019.

What are your thoughts about this?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.