Heartbreak for Cameroon’s AFCON 2017 hero as Seedorf reveals squad list for title defence

Scorer of the title-winning goal for Cameroon at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, Vincent Aboubakar, has been left out of the Indomitable Lions’ final squad for the 2019 edition of the competition.

Bildergebnis für clarence seedorf vincent aboubakar 2019

Aboubakar had come on as a substitute for Robert Ndip Tambe in the 2017 AFCON final held in Gabon and showed great strength to hold off the challenge of three defenders and score an 88th minute goal which completed a comeback win for the Cameroonians against the Pharaohs.

However, Cameroon head coach Clarence Seedorf has decided the striker, who spent the last season on loan at Turkish Super Lig club, Besiktas, will not be needed this time when he takes the five-time AFCON winners to Egypt where they hope to defend the title.

Bildergebnis für clarence seedorf vincent aboubakar 2019

Also left out of the squad by Seedorf were Moumi Ngamaleu, Jeandot Fuchs, Pierre Akono, Steve Regis Mvoue and Simon Omossola, with Aboubakar leaving a message of encouragement to his Cameroon team-mates at their training camp in Qatar.

According to a statement from the Cameroon national team, Aboubakar and Fuchs were dropped from the final squad to Egypt due to injuries to the players.

Bildergebnis für clarence seedorf vincent aboubakar 2019

Meanwhile, Paris Saint-Germain forward, Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting as well as Ajax goalkeeper Andre Onana and Zambo Anguissa of Fulham.

Bildergebnis für choupo-moting cameroon training 2019

Cameroon will compete against Ghana, Guinea-Bissau and Benin Republic in Group F of AFCON 2019.

Bildergebnis für clarence seedorf cameroon training 2019

Goalkeepers: Carlos Kameni, Fabrice Ondoa, Andre Onana

Defenders: Ambroise Oyongo, Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui, Collins Fai, Gaëtan Bong, Banana Yaya, Jean-Armel Kana-Biyik, Joyskim Dawa

Bildergebnis für choupo-moting cameroon training 2019

Midfielders: Georges Mandjeck, Clinton N’Jie, Christian Bassogog, Arnaud Djoum, André-Frank Zambo Anguissa, Pierre Kunde, Olivier Boumal, Wilfrid Kaptoum

Forwards: Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Jacques Zoua, Karl Toko Ekambi, Stéphane Bahoken, Diederrick Joel Tagueu

What are your thoughts about Cameroon’s team to AFCON 2019? Can they retain the trophy won in 2017?

Ähnliches Foto

Share your views about this with us in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.